top of page
  • Amazon
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Book Review: People of Abandoned Character

I stumbled upon this book thanks to NetGalley and a chance I didn’t ever think of getting an approval. Like all the other titles I requested, I didn’t think much of this one once I added it to the pile. I didn't expect this book to become my favorite historical fiction read of 2021 when I received an email weeks later saying I could start reading it. Perhaps ever since, I have not discovered a book which has beaten it since.


Ebook lying flat with items surrounding it

London, 1888: Susannah rushes into marriage to a young and wealthy surgeon. After a passionate honeymoon, she returns home with her new husband wrapped around her little finger. But then everything changes.


Thomas's behavior becomes increasingly volatile and violent. He stays out all night, returning home bloodied and full of secrets. The gentle caresses she enjoyed on her wedding night are now just a honeyed memory.


When the first woman is murdered in Whitechapel, Susannah's interest is piqued. But as she follows the reports of the ongoing hunt for the killer, her mind takes her down the darkest path imaginable. Every time Thomas stays out late, another victim is found dead.


Is it coincidence? Or is her husband the man they call Jack the Ripper?


Derived from Goodreads.com


 


The blurb provides a thorough breakdown of what the reader will expect. Told through the perspective of Susannah, who has married Dr. Thomas Lancaster. Now that the honeymoon period is over, Thomas begins to show his true colours and it’s only Susannah, who notices it. People in power, including Thomas and the maid, reject her accusations, as women were often disbelieved in that time.



Since I read this as an ebook, I could not get enough of this book! During my studies, on public transport and in my free time, I was caught reading this story. The author provided ample of suspense and thrill to keep me flipping through the pages. There was a sense of closeness and sympathy for Susannah because the story was unraveling in her perspective. Readers only manage to grapple into whatever hope and success Susannah might come across in revealing her horrid of a husband.


Book next to a slice of cake

If you are like me, who loves old legends and period pieces, then you will love that this book is inspired by Jack the Ripper. Thomas is the supposed culprit, but in the book he goes by the name, ‘Leather Apron’. Other than that, he is as conniving and sly as all the retellings of Jack the Ripper. It is no wonder that nobody believes Susannah! He has an answer to everything, allies, and his position as a surgeon holds him high in the social hierarchy, whereas Susannah is the new woman in town who no one knows of.


Graphic of a laptop showing a book

There are so numerous things I could go into with this book, but most of it includes spoilers, so I would suggest you read it! It became the easiest five star read I have ever given!



Signature

Subscribe for content and more!

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page