top of page
  • Amazon
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

7 Valuable Book Photography Tips

Updated: Apr 27, 2023

With the simplicity of smartphones these days, it has become easier than ever to take photos. However, there is still an art to taking specific photos. I get asked all the time about my bookstagram posts, even though my posts are not as near good as the top bookstagrammers—it is still nice to be appreciated for work that has taken a few hours to do!



I have been a bookstagrammer for over three years now. It’s all about hard-work, creativity, time management and, of course—reading! Below I have shared some tips for bookstagrammers out there, whether you are starting an account, simply intrigued or wish to learn a thing or two.


TAKE BOOK PHOTOS YOU ARE INTERESTED IN

I can’t stress this enough. When you’re taking a photo of anything really, you’re inspired to capture the moment or share the story. The same is with book photos; taking photos of books you’re not interested in can visually show in the end… believe me, I’ve been there. I have taken photos of books I was not entirely interested in and compared them to books I was so hyped to read and the difference was huge! If I can pick this out, imagine if your followers could too?



NATURAL LIGHT

You can have the best light setup in the world, from an LED light to a whole stage light, but the best lighting is natural. Often I take photos in the day, when it is early afternoon. If you edit your photos, having it look as raw and natural as possible will help in the editing process. Also, candles and other sources of light may be used in the photo itself and it looks best on camera against natural light.




GREAT SETTING

As you must have noticed, my photos mostly comprise a flat layout therefore, I don’t have much of setting. However, I would still recommend a setting to those bookstagrammers who love to take photos in random places. Setting can vary from nature, to buildings, to scenery, to a plain or clustered backdrop / background. It’s all about the vibe and impression you want to leave your followers with.



EFFECTIVE PROPS

I have always tried to match my props to the book, whether it may be through color or theme. Not only do props add a visual flair to your photograph, it provides readers with a sense of interaction and connection with the book being displayed. For example, if the book you are sharing includes mysteries and puzzles, then you may add a magnifying glass, puzzle pieces scattered around, a notepad and pen, and so on.




SOMETHING TO TAKE PHOTOS WITH…

By far the most important tip! Nothing fancy is needed nowadays to take photographs. You don’t need the latest camera with a million settings and buttons or the latest phone with the highest resolution (desired but not needed). As long as you have something which clicks and captures the moment, then you’re good to go!



COLLECTING PROPS

In the beginning, I scrambled around for props and by the time I had everything I could think of—I was exhausted. As time went on and I found my flow, I kept a large box of random props and items no one was using around the house. Overtime, this collection grew where I invested in the cheapest and smallest things. Right now I have one large box, one medium and a few small boxes full of things!


[8 Treats To Have While You're Reading]



INVESTING TIME

I don’t know if it’s just me, but if I plan a book photo with an entire setup, then it will take me about half an hour to forty-five minutes. From start to finish, which includes, prop collecting, setup, taking photos and cleanup. So, it is time consuming and since I have started studying; I learnt to take different book photos in one day to have enough content until I have an opportunity again to take photos.



There you have it, people. I hope these tips will make your next bookish post as beautiful and creative as ever! Do you have any book photography tips to share? Comment down below if I have not mentioned them.



 


Subscribe for content and more!

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page